It can occur that you get duplicates of the same ticket in your account. This could be because more than one customer submits the same issue or requests the same feature. In these circumstances, you may wish to merge those tickets. Here’s how you do it.
First, select the tickets that you’d like to merge and under the actions menu select ‘more options’ and ‘merge items’.
Now you need to decide what changes do you want to make to the items to be merged. For example, you can change the ‘lifecycle status completion state’. If you don’t want to make those changes, you can reset them to unchanged. You can also create a conversation on the items to be merged. By default, we post a message that lets the customer know that the item has been merged but he’ll continue to receive notifications. You can also link the items to be merged into the item being merged into.
Next, select which item you want to merge into. For example, I’m going to select to merge into this one here. Now you can choose to copy attachments or not, copy descriptions, move the conversations, or create a new conversation. In this case, we’re going to post an internal message which tells any users that look at it that this item was merged into another item.
One important thing to note is that your workflow automations will be disabled during this merge. This means that status changes here will not send out additional notifications. Then click merge, confirm and your merge has occurred.
Your selected items to merge to have been closed, set to 100%, and their properties have been copied over as you described into the item being merged into. That includes attachments, includes any conversations you want to move, and of course we posted a new conversation saying items 1 and 10 were closed and merged into this ticket. So that’s how you merge tickets in OneDesk.